AACC celebrates national championship win


Dan Elson

The Riverhawks’ women’s lacrosse team celebrate their national championship win at an event on Wednesday.

Dan Elson, Sports Editor

Students, athletes, faculty and staff celebrated the AACC women’s lacrosse team’s national championship win in the Student Union building on Wednesday.

The Riverhawks, who finished the season undefeated, beat the Onondaga Community College Lazers 14-11 on Sunday. Midfielder Bailey Makarovich said she’s still hyped about the National Junior College Athletic Association championship win.

“I think I’m still on adrenaline high,” Makarovich, a second-year transfer studies student, said.

The Riverhawks now have their third NJCAA title in their program’s history. The other two were in 2006 and 2007. 

Goalie Kaitlyn Evans said earning the championship is meaningful. 

“I’ve only played lacrosse for two years,” Evans, a second-year undecided student, said. “So it means a lot to be able to do that with a bunch of people who either haven’t played or have played for a really long time.”

Second-year business student Victor Solis said he came out to the event for the food and to support the Riverhawks. 

It’s “outstanding for the lacrosse team, and it’s outstanding for the college and AACC sports in general,” Solis, the Student Government Association’s vice president of public relations, said. “So it’s great for us.”

Second-year transfer studies student Michael Duffy said he was surprised at the turnout at the celebration.

“There’s actually more people here than I expected would be,” Duffy, a guard for the Riverhawks basketball team, said. “So it kind of puts in perspective how many people actually care [about the team].”

Dean of Student Development Deneen Dangerfield said she’s proud of the team. 

“They’re not just great athletes, they are amazing students,” Dangerfield said. “So they’re doing well academically. I’m just proud … of the work both on the field and off the field.”

The Riverhawks finished 10-0 in the season, including postseason wins.